Why

by Hannah

I owe a heartfelt thank you to Caroline for encouraging me to do this blog. I came to her with the idea of starting a blog for young women and was excited about the idea, as I have opened my eyes to the challenges I will have to face and choices I will have to make as a young woman today.

However, consistent with research that has found that women are more likely than men to question their own credentials and ability to meaningfully contribute, I was scared to put myself out there and do this on my own. For the first time, I had a vision I was passionate about and emotionally invested in. I wanted to take a stand, even if it was in a subtle or small way – something as small as sparking a conversation or prompting a young woman to rethink the messages she has received over the course of her life.

When I mentioned the idea to Caroline, she graciously did not laugh in my face. I am very thankful to have had her support with this endeavor (and for the past 19 years of my life!). Our discussions about the various gender gaps in American politics and business were inspiring. I began to suspect that maybe I had hit upon something worthwhile.

Of course, I am sad to see Caroline leave this blog, but also realize that her choice exemplifies a challenge that all women of our generation will have to face: prioritizing according to what is important to us at a given time with a view of taking care of ourselves and living a balanced life. As she stated in her most recent post, this is not her passion.

But it is mine. So Fresh Ink will continue, with the same mission, values, and balanced content. Although this will technically be a one-person blog, I promise you that I will not fall into the trap of self-centrism that so many blogs do. I am not delusional enough to think that you care that I finally tackled the mountain of laundry in my closet today. You probably don’t want to know what I had for breakfast, but you may be interested in ways to learn how to budget or set career goals that will get you where you want to be. I want to offer you information that will make you think about and rethink your world, while also providing suggestions as to how you can make your singular life more enjoyable within a world that both demands that you be as ambitious, strong, and assertive as is expected of a man, but also asks you to be as humble, nurturing, and self-sacrificing as the generations of women before us have been.

Fresh Ink exists because I still want to be the girl who fakes out three defenders on her way to scoring the game-winning goal. With a pretty pink pedicure concealed under her soccer cleats.

Maybe one day that girl will be a young professional who wants to find an affordable, yet chic, shift dress to wear to her first big presentation at a company-wide conference.

Later, she might become a hardworking CEO of a major corporation whose favorite way to start her well-deserved weekend is cutting up oranges for her daughter’s soccer team to enjoy at halftime.

Who knows?

~ by freshinkblog on March 29, 2011.

One Response to “Why”

  1. I think falling into the trap of thinking, “Why would anyone want to read my blog? My life isn’t that interesting. I’m not that important.” is common for bloggers when they first start out. But I think as time goes on you realize that you’re doing this for yourself, no one else. And if other people want to read (which they will), that’s just an added bonus.

    So excited for you to see where this takes you!

Leave a Reply

 
