The L.L. Bean Boat and Tote: a New England Classic

by Hannah

image from nestingmode.com

I grew up with the L.L. Bean Boat and Tote. I had a white one with pink handles that I used to carry my ice skates around during my short-lived ice skating career.

In high school, when I went through my preppiest phase, I used a navy blue and white striped one with a monogram to carry my books. I challenge you to find a preppier bag! The trusty L.L. Bean Boat and Tote even makes an appearance in the very first photo I uploaded on Facebook almost six years ago.

A preppy bag at a preppy event: the Head of the Charles Regatta

When I left for Georgetown, my list of dorm room essentials included a laundry bag. I could have bought mine from Bed, Bath and Beyond, along with just about everything else that I bought (and that was quite a bit – my father joked that he should have bought stock in B, B and B right before my friends and I left for school…), but my mother had a better idea: why not get an extra-large L.L. Bean Boat and Tote? Brilliant! My mother doesn’t know this, but to this day, every time I do my laundry, I silently thank her for the great idea. I was never the girl who had to lug her lacy underthings in a mesh see-through bag down the dorm hallway and down flights of stairs as curious students tried to sneak a peak at the contents of her laundry (OK, so I never saw anyone doing this, but it could happen!). Plus, no one would dare steal my laundry bag if I left it in the communal laundry room – it was monogrammed! (Ah, more brilliance!)

Other uses for the L.L. Bean Boat and Tote:

  • Gym bag
  • Grocery bag
  • Storing towels or other odds ‘n ends
  • Lunch bag
  • Or my favorite for those harsh northeastern winters: carrying firewood inside from the backyard to build a warm and cozy cabin-style fire after a long day of skiing (or visiting the L.L. Bean flagship store in Freeport, ME!)… Can you tell I miss New England?
~ by freshinkblog on March 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
