My Dream Spring Break…

by Hannah

…just might be a yoga retreat in a warm locale. (Of course, I would make sure to take Caroline’s advice and apply that SPF while I get my namaste on!)

My friend Danielle sent me a tantalizing link from the Lululemon Athletica blog on yoga retreats the other day. Just as the snow began to fall on DC and I was about to forgive her for making me daydream about curling up into child’s pose with the warmth of the sun on my back in places like Bora Bora and Greece, she mentioned another amazing yoga retreat at the Kripalu center in western Massachusetts with Gabrielle Bernstein, author of Add More ~ing to Your Life: a Hip Guide to Happiness. Since Kripalu is on the east coast, maybe someday I’ll make it there!

I read Ms. Bernstein’s book last year and tried out some of her strategies for achieving balance and happiness. I find meditation challenging and frustrating (my mind moves a mile a minute and I find it hard to sit still!), but I was so impressed by her suggestions that I tried her guided meditations. They were nice in that they were short and not hokey and she provides some useful advice on coming up with affirmations. For those unfamiliar with affirmations, they are short phrases you repeat in your head or write down to encourage yourself to confront something challenging or to change your frame of mind. For example, if you have someone from your past who you find it hard to be around because you have a lot of pent-up anger or resentment, there are things you can say to yourself to process that anger and let it go so that it does not affect you.

Ms. Bernstein is also quite active on the internet, as she uses YouTube, Facebook, and Twitter to interact with readers of her book and the network of young women she has built online.

For all of you thinking about how to take the next step (or the first!) in your career, you should check out her future, another one of Ms. Bernstein’s projects. There, you can join to network with other women and possibly find a mentor or join a “power posse” to engage with a smaller group of members. Either way, I encourage you to explore the site, peruse a copy of her book, or browse her social media pages because this is certainly one young woman who has worked hard to achieve an astounding amount of success and hopes to help others do the same.

And as one young woman who is always looking to give and receive guidance, that is certainly a mission I can get behind! 🙂

image from bookswim.com

~ by freshinkblog on February 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
