Get reading

by Caroline

In five short months I’ll be graduating college.  What!? When did that happen?

I’m both nervous and excited for this big milestone in my life. On one hand, I’m so done with college. Staying up all night and sleeping all day? That was fun for a while. But on the other hand, graduating means becoming an adult, learning to be independent, and figuring out what I want to do with my life. Which scares the shit out of me.

So what do I do when I approach a new crossroads and I don’t know where I want to go? Read.

Here are some great books to check out:

Getting from College to Career: 90 Things to Do Before You Join the Real World by Lindsey Pollak

Summary from Amazon:

How do you get a job without experience and get experience without a job? It’s the question virtually every college student or recent graduate faces. In Getting from College to Career, Lindsey Pollak offers the first definitive guide to building the experience, skills, and confidence you need before starting your first major job search.

Life After College: The Complete Guide to Getting What You Want by Jenny Blake.

While this book isn’t released yet, I’m already anticipated buying it. Jenny Blake is the author of an amazing blogging resource for recent college grads. On her blog, she discusses everything from job search rejection to dealing with loneliness to working in a cubicle.

How to Survive the Real World: Life After College by Andrea Syrtash

I read the book How to Survive Freshman Year of College when I was a senior in High School and I loved it. This book discusses a wide array of topics from finding a job and keeping it to renting an apartment or sharing a sublet to dealing with your own money instead of your parents’ money and looking for love.

Graduating college and becoming a “real person” is one of the biggest transitions we will go through, however, being prepared will both ease your mind and give you confidence to tackle whatever comes your way in the next couple of years!

Do you like to read these types of “self help” books? What are some of your favorites regarding graduation?

~ by freshinkblog on January 21, 2011.

One Response to “Get reading”

  1. Thank you so much for the shout-out Caroline! I’m honored 😀

    Have a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

 
